READER REVIEWS

  
Annette Bigelow

5.0 out of 5 starsInteresting and informative .

September 3, 2019

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I liked the fact that the story moved quickly. A fast page turner. It also had a lot of information about the area in which I live. Poor old Isaiah the horse.. Read the book and enjoy the story when life wasn't so convenient. Annette Bigelow


skurschner

5.0 out of 5 starsGreat read

August 28, 2019

Format: Hardcover

A young girl becomes a woman all too soon as she faces the hazards of living in dangerous times. Indian raids, the war for independence and the perils of building a new nation are all included.
You will find yourself eager to discover what happens to Hope, her horse Isaiah and her family. It pulls at your heart strings. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.




REVIEW 8/25/19 From Burnsville,NC
“What a book !! Could not put it down. I live in Burnsville NC, Hard time in the late 1700. You have captured my interest and I thank you. Will this be a series? Good luck with your book signing. I love that orchard. These mountains are so beautiful. I lived and was born in Vermont. The Appalachian trail goes through Killington Vermont and it also goes through Yancey co. Near Roan Mt. 1000 miles south. We love it here. Keep writing, I'll be looking for author Patricia Ann Ledford in amazon. :-)”



Ronald E. Harr

5.0 out of 5 starsPat Ledford sparks life into the late 1700s in TN/NC!
July 13, 2019
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This historical novel about the life of a young woman (and her horse) in NE Tennessee and Western NC during the American Revolution is a gripping tale of strength and determination. Indian raids, fire, rape, murder and war ignite the pages in a way that keeps you from putting it down. Painstaking research is evident in the historical accuracy of the story.

Jo Coke
5.0 out of 5 starsAppealing Characters
July 19, 2019
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
Pat Ledford has captured the late 18th century hardships and challenges with a plot that twists and turns to keep the reader's interest. Her research is amazing, and Hope will appeal to everyone.

Thomas B. Yancey
5.0 out of 5 starsmoves fast, makes history relatable
July 14, 2019
Format: Hardcover
Strings: the Story of Hope, is an ambitious, insightful historical novel about a neglected corner of America's history, when the Revolution came to the southern frontier and independent mountain patriots responded. The story starts fast and covers a lot of ground and time, but always held my interest. Fifteen-year-old Hope O'conor, the central character, is secure in the remote southern mountains with her daddy and her cinnamon-colored horse, until she is swept up by an Indian uprising that forces her to fend for herself and bear a child out of wedlock. With little but grit, faith and her horse Isaiah, she is sent out on her own, with a vague hope of finding her father, hoping he is alive. Along the way she is taken in by a frontier family, a blessing that starts well but soured by prejudice and abuse. Two of her "foster brothers" are swept up in the march to the Battle of Kings Mountain, which Washington called one of the turning points of the Revolutionary War, but they could hardly understand it. This part helped me better understand the meaning of "the fog of war." Other parts helped me see the way children have little choice but to learn by watching their elders, often repeating their elders' mistakes. Hope makes several bad choices too, decades worth, but it's possible to see why they could have seemed right at the time. Without preaching, the book shows how God works for the good of those who trust him, though it isn't often easy and is seldom quick. Patricia Ledford is a gifted writer, good at beautiful (and also grim) description, and also good at giving this male reader glimpses into female fears and perceptions. I hope she writes more books.

Ronald Rasnake
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat historically accurate novel of TN-NC 1770's
July 16, 2019
Format: Hardcover
Loved the action in this excellent novel about a young girl named Hope and her struggles during the frontier Indian uprisings of the 1770's. full of action and surprises which keeps your interest and you can't put it down. I read this novel in 4 days which is a record for me as I usually fall asleep after about 8 - 10 pages. well illustrated and well written novel. I am proud to say I know the author of this excellent novel who has embarked on another successful journey. keep the books coming PAL. You make us proud of your successes.


Ruthie
5.0 out of 5 starsSo descriptive, places you in the moment.
July 16, 2019
Format: Hardcover
This book grabs you from the first page. The detailed descriptions of the characters--both physical & emotional--helpg the reader to know them... and to feel their joys, sorrows, fears, pain. The beautiful descriptions of the many landscapes as well as the details of devastation, makes you feel as if you are there witnessing events as they unfold. I read this book hard for the first 275 pages because I couldn't wait to learn what was to happen next to Hope, or Jared or Jake. But then I found myself slowing down, not reading as often & finally realized I didn't want the book to end! So I hope there will be a sequel!


REVIEW BY JM

"I don't often read books because I fall asleep after the first two or three pages. However, every part of the book is filled with action and suspense. I never wanted to put it down until I finished reading it. I highly recommend it!


REVIEW BY CATHY H

 Strings, the Story of Hope is a very well written historical fiction novel. Hope, is a young girl forced to flee her home in Northeast Tennessee when it was set on fire by the Cherokees in July, 1776. Her journey shows her courage as she struggles to survive on her own with only her horse, Isaiah, and a handmade sling for a weapon.

The author’s character descriptions bring all the characters to life, and this reader feels as if she knows all of them, even the evil ones. The story keeps the reader interested, and makes the book hard to put down.

The research allows the reader to learn about life in the late 1700’s and the struggles of the new settlers as they built homes, grew produce, and hunted animals for food. You learn about trading with the Cherokee’s etc., at trading posts, grain mills, blacksmith shops, etc.

The novel will cause the reader to feel emotionally involved in Hope’s story as she meets strangers, helps them, and lives her spiritual life through her reading of the Bible. The reader will experience joy, love, and tears and will not want the story to end. This novel will appeal to everyone. Five Stars! 


    

image11

Contact Us

I LOVE MY READERS AND ESPECIALLY LOVE YOUR FEEDBACK. PLEASE MESSAGE ME YOUR THOUGHTS! OR LEAVE YOUR REVEW BELOW:

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

PALinks